start of category navigation end of category navigation
The JRW Group
Paul Williams

Paul Williams, former Thistle Insurance Services Managing Director, is set to join The JRW Group as Executive Chairman, subject to regulatory approval. His appointment to this newly formed role comes at a time when the niche insurance specialist is set to embark on an ambitious growth plan.

Daniel Revilla

Lloyd's appoints Daniel Revilla  Regional Head for Latin America.

He will also assume the role of Country Manager for Mexico and will be based in Mexico city.

Daniel joined Lloyd’s in 2014 as Head of Operations and Strategy for Lloyd’s Global Markets division. Prior to that, he worked at Zurich for nine years in M&A and Strategy roles, and his last role was Head of Strategy for the General Insurance segment. He also worked in M&A and Strategy at UBS investment bank, and held financial roles with Telefonica Sistemas and AFP Integra in Peru.

JLT Re (North America)
John Speckman

JLT Re (North America) Inc. has appointed John Speckman as senior vice president in Stamford, Conn.

In this role, Speckman will be part of the Workers’ Compensation and Programs practice groups and will focus on the continued expansion and development of JLT Re’s new business initiatives.

Oliver Hills

Chubb has named Oliver Hills as the regional head for reinsurance in Latin America.

Markel International
Daniel Lells - Jakob Holmen

Markel International, the specialist insurer, has appointed Daniel Lells as programme business manager in Malmo and Jakob Holmen as underwriting manager in its Stockholm office.

The appointments follow that of Torgny Johansson as managing director in Stockholm, to drive Markel’s development across Scandinavia.

Pioneer Underwriting
Graeme Rayner

Pioneer Underwriters (‘Pioneer’) announces that Graeme Rayner has commenced his role as Group Director of Underwriting, reporting to Chief Executive Officer, Darren Doherty.

Mr Rayner, whose appointment was first announced in August 2016, joins from MS Amlin where, prior to Mitsui Sumitomo’s acquisition of Amlin, he served as Chief Underwriting Officer of Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Underwriting Limited and as Active Underwriter of MSIG’s Lloyd’s Syndicate 3210. Before joining MSIG in 2011, Mr Rayner had been Managing Director of QBE’s Specialty Division.

Covea Insurance
Matthew Jones

Covéa Insurance  has appointed Matthew Jones to the role of Key Account Manager in the insurer’s specialist Protection team.  Matt will support the organisation’s continued growth in the Life market by exploring new distribution channels, and developing appropriate product propositions for partners to meet the needs of their customers.

Liberty Specialty Markets
Miguel Martinez Álvarez

Liberty Specialty Markets (LSM), part of Liberty Mutual Insurance Group, has appointed Miguel Martinez Álvarez as Head of Business Development for the reinsurance division. Martinez started on 1st October and is based in the Cologne office. He reports to Dieter Winkel, Chief Underwriting Officer – Reinsurance.

Gen Re
John Brogan

Brogan replaces David McKay, who plans to retire in April after almost 40 years at United States Aviation Underwriters, the company said in a statement Thursday. Brogan is currently the president and chief operating officer, overseeing underwriting and claims operations.

Ajit Jain, one of Buffett’s top deputies at Berkshire, has been shuffling management at Gen Re since taking responsibility for the business this year. Tad Montross, who previously led the reinsurer, announced his departure in April, and Jain promoted Kara Raiguel to run that operation in May.

Sava Re
Mateja Lovsin

Following the notice of resignation of Branko TOMAZIC as Chair and Member of the Supervisory board of SAVA Re, dated 11 October 2016, the Members of the Supervisory Board of the Slovenian Group, elected from among themselves Mateja Lovsin HERIC as Chair of the Supervisory Board and Slaven MICKOVIC as Deputy Chair.